History of Odisha

Odisha is a state of India and located on the east-coast of the India. By the “Bay of Bengal”. During the ancient time Odisha was known as ‘Kalinga’. Kalinga was invaded by the ‘Murya’ emperor ‘Akhoka’ in 261 BC. The Morden state was established “1st April 1936” at Kanika Palace, Cuttack, as a province of india. So, 1st April is therefore celebrated as “Utkal Dibas” or “Odisha Day”. The history of Odisha is in many ways official from that of the northern plains and many of the common generalisations that are made about the history of India do not seem to apply the “Odia” Region.

wheel of Konark temple

The name of “Odia” originated from “Odra”, “Odra” is a tribes they lives the central belt of morden odisha. Like (Anugul, Dhenkanal, Nayagada and Radhakhol area). But the name of “Odisha” is derived from Sanskrit word “Urda” who lives the central belt of Odisha, “Greeks” Literature called ‘Odia’ as ‘oreates’. In Chinese ‘literature called ‘odisha’ is cuucha, ‘chinese’ piligrims, Hiuam – Tsha visited Odisha in about 636 A.D.

I the third century BC, Kalinga flourished as a powerful kingdom under the ‘Jaina King, ‘Kharabela’. He ruled all the way down to south include parts of the “Tamil” part ‘Kharavela’ built the super monastic cave at – “Khandagiri and Udayagiri” subsequently the kingdom was rules under various monarchas, such as “Samudra Gupta” and “sashan”. It is also a part of Harsga’s – empire. In 795 A.D. the kalinga Jajati Keshari of ‘Keshari’, or soma dynasty united Kalinga. He is also supported to built by king ‘Chandragangadev’ and Ananga Bhinadeva’ of the Eastern ganga Dynasty in the 12th Century. The famous load Lingaraj temple in “Bhubaneswar was started by King Jajati keshari and completed by his son ‘Lalatendu Keshari’ in 10th Century. The king Narasing Dva is reputed to have built the sun temple  at Konark.

The Mughals conqured Odisha in 1576. The last hindu king of Odisha Gajapati “Mukunda Dev” was defeated and was killed in the battle of the ‘Gohiratikiri’, Mughals divided Odisha in two part Gadjat and Mugal Bandi.

The gadjat areas are central Odisha’s northern western and southern hilly areas.

The Mugal Bandi areas are costal plain of Odisha, from Medinipur to rajmahendry come under the rule.